Scroll to content
School Logo


Primary School

Be the best you can be!

Protected Characteristics

At Shirland Primary School we prepare learners for adult life, equipping them to be respectful and responsible British citizens. We aim to develop their understanding, appreciation and celebration of diversity of the different protected characteristics defined by law. 


Under the Equality Act 2010, people in Britain are protected from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. The Equality Act states that there are 9 protected characteristics;


  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity


The government does stress that not all these characteristics have to be taught in every year group and schools should use their professional judgement to plan their curriculum appropriately.


At Shirland our curriculum is planned and delivered so that children develop age-appropriate knowledge and understanding during their time at school. Through a thorough PSHCE and RSE curriculum and school assemblies, we teach our children about these issues. 


The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted at Shirland and further information can be found on our 'Protected Characteristics Statement' and our whole school overview below.