Scroll to content
School Logo


Primary School

Be the best you can be!

Meet the Governors

Welcome to our Governors section.


The governing body has a strategic role in the management of Shirland Primary and is responsible for ensuring the high standards of educational achievement. Governors are responsible for setting the strategic direction, ethos and vision of the school. The role of the governing body including monitoring and evaluating the effectiveness of the School Improvement Plan; overseeing the school's budget; appointing staff; setting standards for pupils' behaviour; reviewing policies to ensure the school's aims and objectives are met and to ensure that all pupils achieve their individual best.


Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

Chair of Governors - Mr T Farndon 
Headteacher - Miss L Vessey
Local Authority (LA) Governors
Mr T Farndon

Staff Governors
Mrs J Dolman

Parent Governors
Mrs A Price

Mrs R Dart 

Mrs K Parsons

Co-opted Governors
Mr D Williamson (Vice Chair)

Mrs C Forrest (Safeguarding Governor)

Mrs E Seals

Clerk to Governors  
Mrs D Hill  

Governing Body Information



By virtue of their position


Elected by school staff


Elected by parents


Nominated by the local authority, appointed by the GB


Appointed by the governing body

Associate Member

Appointed by the governing body